why is kamen rider changing tones?

Such a fruit
goshinki
Complacent masses
Complacent masses

why is kamen rider changing tones?

Post by goshinki »

Just wanted to know why kamen rider is veering away from it's darker tones. Not that its a bad thing, i just hope they make more shows like black, kuuga and 000. Enjoying fourze and gaim as well. Just seems that over the last few series the shows are veering away from the dark stuff.. not that i've seen every episode to justify this commentary :P

Maybe it's just me.

Well, that said i do enjoy this series, and sentai as well :) just kind of wondering what caused the change in gears over the last few series that was all :P

Thank you btw :) great work on maintaining this for so long. I have been visiting this site for close to 10 years now :)
locuas
Crossing a Millennium

Re: why is kamen rider changing tones?

Post by locuas »

Mostly a change in values, aiming to childrens who would buy the toys and avoiding parents complaining about what their childrens are watching, i think.

I call this the reverse Doctor Who effect. in that While doctor who started very kid friendly(which, for a series during the sixties WAS kid friendly), but slowly became darker and more mature as the years passed(BTW, no, the darker and mature aspects wasn't what led to the canellation of the original series, it was because one of the higher ups hated the show for reaons unrelated to its tone or its popularity)
Yet with kamen rider, it has become more and more lighter in each installment, maybe because that gave them better ratings, or made parents happier, i don't know.
goshinki
Complacent masses
Complacent masses

Post by goshinki »

Ya, there definitely is a change in tone over the last 5 or so series.
Still great stuff though :)

thanks, the explanation was helpful :) and i am a Doctor who fan as well :P
Dengar
ZAIA Tool
ZAIA Tool
Favorite series: Gaim
2nd Favorite Series: Agito
Alignment: Lawful Good

Post by Dengar »