lennyhouston16
Go Go!
Favorite series: Gaim, OOO, Gokaiger
2nd Favorite Series: Kiva, W, Go-Busters
Alignment: Neutral Good

The Various Writers of Toku

Post by lennyhouston16 »

[Quick Warning: This thread may be spoiler-ish.]

After the previous thread about Toei viewtopic.php?f=58&t=21443, I've been thinking about the writers of toku and each of their styles (especially since I'm a writer as well). I haven't seen all toku known to man so I'll just cover the first ten that come to mind to avoid an essay long post on this. They're not in any particular order and feel free to mention others.

First: Inoue Toshiku- This guy had his hand in a lot of early toku especially Heisei Kamen Rider. I like his writing but it seemed to go downhill somewhere after Kiva. While I know many did not like his dark tones and plot devices, I saw that as a part of his signature style. Likewise, I'll say he probably could've avoided these if he had an assistant writer(s) for the seasons he served as a head writer to possibly see another perspective on progressing the plots. When I see his more current stuff, it just feels like he's burnt out and just going through the motions. (Dare I mention Shougeki Gouraigan?)

Second: Kobayashi Yasuko- This woman is amazing writer when it comes to world-building and characters. She has been in the game for quite some time and she's stayed strong especially for a female writer. While her writing hasn't been flawless, it engages the audience and that's what I love. She also has her own signature style especially in Super Sentai like usually the beginning of her seasons are slow but excellent set-up for events later and the trope of more than one version of the red ranger at some point. I'm glad to see her back in Kamen Rider with Amazons and can't wait to see what she has in store for season 2.