What's the problem with Ghost?

G-g-ghosts?!
Forum rules
Kamen Rider Ghost Wiki Link

< Drive | Ghost | Ex-Aid >

Spoiler rules: No posting information about unreleased stuff. Preview and movie promo discussion must be in marked spoiler tags.
lennyhouston16
Go Go!
Favorite series: Gaim, OOO, Gokaiger
2nd Favorite Series: Kiva, W, Go-Busters
Alignment: Neutral Good

What's the problem with Ghost?

Post by lennyhouston16 »

So I've been thinking about this topic for a while (I specifically waited to until the show was properly over) but I think the biggest problem with Ghost is the Demia plot which is mostly written by Mouri and Hasegawa. As a writer, I know what it's like working on a project and working with others can either make a show a disaster or improve it quite a bit. It's usually the former and I think that's what happened to Fukuda (the main writer) while doing this show.

To me, the first arc (mostly written by him) is nicely written and almost flawless. After that, he writes on and off until Makoto gets the Deep Specter eyecon and that's where I think he wanted to move into the final arc. However, due to having to fill up a certain amount of episodes and include a final form (which I think should've been Grateful) Fukuda may have ran into wall on where to go. He knew how he wanted this to end but didn't know how to fill in the gap. Hence, Mouri and Hasegawa incorporated the Demia plot to fill in such gaps. Looking back at the episodes, Demia was hinted throughout but never came into play until Fukuda became absent in the 30s.